top of page

HAPPY & HEALTHY LIVING

Living With Gestational Diabetes

When you first find out you are pregnant a flood of emotions immediately follows. Fear, excitement, joy, terror, wonder, worry, etc. Whether this baby is your first or fourth, planned or unplanned, most expecting mothers experience a wide range of emotions.

I have been blessed with four precious babies. I had 4 c-sections in 6 years. Each pregnancy was planned, yet each was very different. I worked outside the home during my first three pregnancies. I worked from home during my fourth. I had different issues with each pregnancy, some major and some not quite as serious.

Every time I found out I was pregnant I experienced a whole range of emotions. I was always thrilled, but I was also always terrified that something would go wrong. With my first pregnancy I had major issues immediately and my doctor wasn’t sure if I would lose the baby or not. Luckily, I carried my baby to 39 weeks and he is now a thriving boy who is about to turn 7. The experience I had during my first pregnancy caused me to be more anxious and careful during my next three pregnancies. Luckily non of the three had any issues quite as serious as my first one.

With my fourth pregnancy I was trying to enjoy every minute because I knew it was the last time I would be pregnant. My husband and I decided on four babies, so this was it. During every pregnancy there are always a few moments that cause more anxiety – the first ultrasound, the mid-point ultrasound and the glucose test. Ah yes, the dreaded glucose test.

I had passed the glucose test in all of my previous pregnancies. During my fourth pregnancy, I was told that I didn’t have to fast before hand. Against my better judgement I had a healthy meal in the morning and went to my appointment in the afternoon. Guess what. I FAILED! I failed by 3 miserable points. To make matters worse, my doctor said they had recently changed the range of passing numbers and I would have passed in the previous range. Ugh. On to the 3 hour test I go.

This time I went first thing in the morning and fasted beforehand. I passed the first hour. Then I failed the second hour by a few points. I failed the third hour by a lot. If you fail 2 out of 3 tests during the three hours you fail the whole thing.

I was in shock. I considered myself a pretty healthy person. I had never had any health issues like this. I had all kinds of guilt because I was terrified I was causing harm to my unborn baby. When I shared my story online I was amazed at how many people I knew had been through the same thing. The outpouring of love and support was amazing. It really helped me get past my guilt and understand that this wasn’t my fault.

My doctor sent me to an endocrinologist. I couldn’t get any information on what I should or shouldn’t be doing. My appointment wasn’t for a few weeks. No one seemed that concerned. This left me in a weird spot. Since no one was overly concerned, what was I supposed to do? I began doing research online. I tried to figure out what this all meant. It was a whole new world I was delving in to.

Finally I had my appointment. My sugar test at the doctor came up beautiful and my A1C for the prior 3 months was around 5.1 so the endocrinologist wasn’t too concerned. He sent me home with instructions to monitor my sugar four times a day for the first week and then once a day after that. I was to call him back if it went over a certain number.

Let me say I hate needles. I can handle getting shots, I just can’t look while it is happening. Now I had to prick myself every day for 8 weeks! Plus, I couldn’t eat all the yummy foods I love, which is just miserable when you are super preggers.

I dutifully began checking my sugar and following a healthier meal plan. I passed up donuts that my family had. I tried REALLY HARD to not eat treats. I learned which foods made my sugar spike and which foods help keep it low. It was actually really interesting to me. (On a side note, every time I checked my sugar after drinking my Shakeology I always got the best readings.)

I will fully admit I wasn’t perfect but I managed to keep my sugar pretty much under control during the rest of my pregnancy. I didn’t need insulin, thank goodness. I was ecstatic the last time I checked my sugar before my baby was born. I was so happy I wouldn’t have to do it anymore. I was told my GD would clear up as soon as the baby was born, which it did.

When my precious girl was born her sugar was a little on the low side so she had to stay in the nursery for a bit. I nursed her and her numbers went right up. She got tested three times after eating that day and passed every test. She is now a perfectly healthy 10 month old little ray of sunshine.

This whole experience really opened my eyes to what people with Diabetes go through. I can’t imagine having to like live that every day. My heart breaks for all those suffering with Type 1 Diabetes.

I NEVER want to go through that again. I work hard to eat right and exercise so I will never have to worry about Type 2 Diabetes.

For all you pregnant mamas out there dealing with Gestational Diabetes, you are not alone. This is not your fault. Follow your doctor’s orders and ask for help when you need it. You are growing a miracle. That is the most important job in the world. <3

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • ig
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
bottom of page