top of page

HAPPY & HEALTHY LIVING

Determing Your Fitness Goals

Let's face it - pretty much EVERYONE wants to improve their health & fitness. We are all at different places in our lives, and we all have different goals. Most of us hold unrealistic ideals in our head. We admire photo shopped super models or hulked up athletes. I am all for being the best version of you, but we must STOP comparing ourselves to fake ideals.

"Well then, how exactly do I determine my fitness goals?" you wonder. I'm so glad you asked! Let me help you create some real goals.

Let's break it down into 5 simple steps.

1. Stop hating yourself. Right now. You are amazing how you are. This step may surprise you, but it is SO IMPORTANT. If you look at yourself with love and respect instead of hate & disgust, I guarantee you will take better care of yourself. Think of something that is very important to you, and think of something that is meaningless. Which one are you more careful with? Treat your body as if it is your most prized possession, because it really is.

2. STOP comparing yourself to false idols. Supermodels & celebrities are often photo shopped. Professional athletes get paid mega-millions to be physically fit. That is all they focus on. Start finding examples of real people who inspire you. Maybe it's the mom you see jogging while pushing her baby in a stroller, or the couple who run marathons together. Maybe it's your friend who is an amazing surfer, or your co-worker who is a killer salsa dancer. The point is to find REAL people who are examples of living a healthy lifestyle.

3. Get rid of a "goal weight." Seriously. I occasionally weigh myself just to see where I am, but in general I don't like the scale. I think it's a great tool for someone starting out so you can see where you are at. However, having a goal weight isn't the best thing. Everyone's body is different. Two people who are the same height can look totally different at the same weight. Muscle weighs more than fat, so you may be leaner but weigh more. I tend to use my measurements as indicators of my progress. Plus, people tend to start obsessing over the number on the scale and it becomes something so stressful that it can derail them completely.

4. Start measuring your progress with your athletic level. I don't mean you need to become an athlete. Do a "fit test" of sorts to see where you currently are. How far can you walk or run in 5 minutes? How many push-ups can you do? Can you do any on your toes, or are they all on your knees? How many sit-ups can you do? How many pull-ups, jumping jacks, squats, high knees, etc. How long can you hold plank? Is it on your knees or toes? How heavy can you lift (the weight will vary depending on what type of lift you are doing - bicep curls, squats, deadlifts, etc., so measure accordingly). Whatever method (s) of exercise you choose, track what you can do right now. That is your baseline. After your first week, see if you have improved at all. Check weekly or monthly to see your progress. Personally, I set goals for how much weight I want to lift, how many un-assisted pull-ups I want to do, how many push-ups on my toes, etc. I find these types of goals are a much better indicator of my progress than the number on the scale.

5. MAKE A PLAN. HOW are you going to achieve these goals? Do you have a workout routine in place? What about your nutrition? Do you have support to help you succeed?

Once you determine your goals, it's time to get started on this amazing journey. I wish you much health & happiness as you embark on this new lifestyle!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • ig
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
bottom of page